Alok Dhawan

Alok Dhawan

Professor Alok Dhawan is currently Director, CSIR-Indian Institute of Toxicology Research, India. He also served as the Director (Additional Charge) of CSIR-CDRI, Lucknow. He served as Founding Director, Institute of Life Sciences and Dean, Planning and Development, Ahmedabad University, Gujarat, India.

He obtained his Ph.D. Degree in Biochemistry from University of Lucknow, India in 1991. He has been awarded D.Sc. Degree (h.c.) from University of Bradford, U.K., 2017. He was a Visiting Scholar, Michigan State University, USA; BOYSCAST Fellow, University of Surrey, Wales & Bradford, UK and Visiting Scientist, BIBRA Toxicology International, Surrey, UK. He is widely travelled around the globe.

He is a scientist, institution builder, science administrator, innovator, technologist & motivator and has been driving the technology and entrepreneurship programme at CSIR-IITR. Professor Dhawan started the area of Nanomaterial Toxicology in India and published a guidance document on the “Safe Use of Nanomaterials”.

He has also developed an affordable technology for disinfection of drinking water which was transferred to an Entrepreneur in presence of Dr Harsh Vardhan, Hon'ble Minister of Science & Technology, Government of India in October 2018 and is now available in the market.

Professor Dhawan has won several honours and awards including the INSA Young Scientist Medal in 1994, CSIR Young Scientist Award in 1999, the Shakuntala Amir Chand Prize of ICMR in 2002; the Vigyan Ratna by the Council of Science & Technology, UP in 2011; Lucknow University Alumini Association Award, 2016; Professor BK Bachhawat Lecture Award of The National Academy of Sciences (India) 2019, Prof. S.S. Katiyar Endowment Lecture Award 2019 of The Indian Science Congress Association.

He founded the Indian Nanoscience Society in 2007. In recognition of his work he has been elected Fellow, The National Academy of Sciences, India; Fellow, The National Academy of Medical Sciences, India; Fellow, The Academy of Toxicological Sciences, USA; Fellow, The Academy of Environmental Biology; Fellow, Academy of Science for Animal Welfare; Fellow—Society of Toxicology (India), Founder Fellow, Indian Nanoscience Society; Fellow, Gujarat Science Academy; Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry; Honorary Fellow, The Biotech Research Society India; President, Society of Toxicology (STOX), India (2018- 2020), Vice President—Environmental Mutagen Society of India (2006–07); Member—National Academy of Medical Sciences; Member, United Kingdom Environmental Mutagen Society, U.K.; Member, Asian Association of Environmental Mutagen Societies, Japan.

He is well decorated both nationally and internationally. He currently serves as Chairman and Member of several National and International Government Institutional Committees/Board of Governors/Trusts. He has to his credit over 160 publications, 20 reviews/book chapters, four patents, two copyrights and has edited nine books. He serves as the Member, Editorial Board of several journals of repute.